Bike Rules In Japan

Lot Ramirez
5 min readJun 21, 2020

--

I biked in Japan (Osaka and Kyoto) and had my mother tagging along at the back seat. Was it dangerous? Not really. As a Filipina biker who is used to the dangerous roads in the Philippines, I find Japan’s streets to be biker-friendly. I wouldn’t have had the confidence to go biking if that wasn’t the case. My dear mother was with me and I wouldn’t wish anything bad to happen to her especially while with me.

I consider riding a bike in Japan to be an amazing and unforgettable experience. As some of you may know, I am an avid supporter of biking as a mode of transport and also as a way to keep Mother Earth clean and ourselves fit.

I always try to find ways to ride a bike whenever I find myself exploring a new place/country. And why not? It’s the most economical and most adventurous way to travel. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should!

Similar to progressive countries like the Netherlands, Denmark and other countries in Europe, Japan has its own huge population of cyclists. They are fond of biking to work, to the grocery store, to school, to restaurants, etc. I can´t tell you how exciting it was for me to bike with them and feel like a ¨local¨ while enjoying the day going places and stopping at coffee shops and restaurants and parks whenever I needed to do so.

And while it is fun to be biking while in Japan, it is necessary to know the rules to avoid getting caught in trouble.

Here they are.

FOLLOW THE DESIGNATED PATH FOR BIKES

There will be signs on the road whether it is permitted to ride or not. In places where there is a lot of foot traffic, for example, bikers are not allowed to pedal. In general, bike riders stick to the road. Japanese are known to be disciplined but I have seen some who broke these rules. Depending on traffic conditions, it may be fine to ride on sidewalks.

RIDE IN THE DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC

Cyclists caught going against the flow of traffic can face up to 30 days in prison or a ¥20,000 fine. Riding in the direction of traffic means you have to keep left. No matter if you are on the road or sidewalk, keep to the left.

NO DOUBLE RIDING

I became aware of this only when we arrived in Kyoto. I broke this law when I rode in Osaka with my mother tagging along and riding at the back side. When I learned it was illegal, I biked alone in Kyoto and left my mother to relax at her own pace for a day. I was relieved that the police did not catch us while in Osaka. We would have been in a terrible mess. Ignorance is no excuse under the law.

There is an exception to this rule of double riding though. Children under 6 years old who are sporting a helmet while in a child seat attached to the bicycle can ride at the front or the back side.

I saw tandem bikes in brochures but I never saw people riding a tandem bike while in Osaka or in Kyoto. I tried looking for one but I didn’t find any bike shop with this kind of bicycle. It seems that tandem bikes are no longer used.

NO UMBRELLA WHILE RIDING A BIKE

Some Japanese still ride a bike while it’s raining or snowing. However, it is NOT allowed to hold an umbrella with one hand while riding a bike. Some people tie small umbrellas on their head or on the handle bars. If umbrellas are not allowed, of course the same goes with using electronics like mobile phones.

DON’T CYCLE WHEN UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF ALCOHOL

Japan impose the same rules with bikers when it comes to drunk driving. Drunk drivers can get locked up for the night or face up to five years in prison or a ¥1,000,000 fine, and even deportation for foreigners or tourists.

USE OF HELMETS

ADULTS are not required to wear helmets but riders under 13 years are.

LIGHTS ARE REQUIRED WHEN BIKING IN THE DARK

I was a bit worried that the bike I rented didn’t have lights. But I was astonished to find out that my bike had an automatic headlight and backlight when it turned dark!

NO BIKES INSIDE THE TRAIN

Unlike in Denmark or Netherlands where I saw so many bring their bikes in and out of trains, bicycles aren’t allowed in trains unless they are foldable.

NO CYCLING SIDE BY SIDE

Cycling shoulder to shoulder is not allowed in moving traffic.

BIKE REGISTRATION

It is very unusual to have a bike stolen in Japan but bike theft still happens all across the country. Locals and foreign residents who decide to acquire a bike are encouraged to register their bikes. Police do a random check of bike registration. And one more benefit of having a bike registered is to be able to locate it in case it gets impounded due to improper parking.

BIKE PARKING

Japanese authorities are strict when it comes to proper bike parking. Make sure to find a safe parking area for your bike and secure it with a padlock to make sure you can still find it in the morning.

I hope these tips help you enjoy your adventures in Japan!

--

--

Lot Ramirez

I delight in the unconventional weirdness of the world